1980's, Louisburgh Foróige.


Please contact us if you have anything Louisburgh Foróige related, no matter how small, let us know.


1960's | 1970's | 1980's | 1990's | 2000's | 2010's


History Index Page | Main Site Home Page








St. Patrick's Day Parade's, 1980's.


Louisburgh Foróige were heavily involved in the arranging of the Louisburgh St. Patrick's Day Parade's in the 1980's. Entry fee in 1984 was £5


Have you any memories?.






We have published the below information "as we received it", some of the dates/details below are subject to change if new information becomes available.


1980's, what we know so far:




There was no Foróige club in Louisburgh Town in 1980. Killeen, Foróige club is reported as doing very well.



Following an almost four year gap in Foróige, in Louisburgh Town, it was decided that something needed to be done. Columba McHugh posted a notice in the local papers advertising his intention to form a Foróige club for the town. The meeting was called for the 13th of November 1981. There was a good turnout to the meeting and the following were then elected to run this new club. Chairman, Columba McHugh; Secretary, David Heneghan; Treasurer, Joan Bennett; PRO, P.J. Moran. One of the main aims of this new club is to do something about the lack of social amenities in the area. However, this club was soon-after disbanded for reasons unknown.


Killeen, Foróige arranged a number of Fundraising events throughout the year in the hope of sending sick children to Lourdes.



Following the recent failure to get a Foróige club off the ground only a few weeks previous, it was again tried by a number of local people and a new meeting was quickly arranged with a new committee formed on the 12th of January 1982. Officers elected this time were; Chairperson, Mary O'Reilly; Secretary, Helena Morahan; Treasurer, Irene Morahan; PRO, Brendan Kelly. In addition to this, vice Chair, Columba McHugh; Assistant Secretary, David Heneghan.


This was the also the first year Louisburgh Foróige took full charge of arranging the St. Patricks Day Parade.



1983 saw Louisburgh Foróige, for the first time since the mid 70's, really come alive with the committee and members getting involved in lots of exciting projects around the town. This was the second year Louisburgh Foróige took charge of arranging the annual St. Patricks Day Parade.


On the 25th of March 83, Louisburgh Foróige took part in the Foróige inter club games hosted by Killmeena Foróige. Louisburgh did very well at these games taking Gold in the Volleyball & Pool competition and taking Silver in the Darts competition.


This was also the first recorded year that an official Foróige disco was to be held in the town, the date was set, 16th of April. While this was the first Foróige Disco, it was to be no ordinary one, Louisburgh Foróige set about arranging a "Marathon Disco" that would run in three, four hour long shifts. Each shift accommodating a different age group.


A monster raffle was also arranged, and the draw was arranged to take place the same night as the Disco. First prize was a "calf" (valued at £180) went to Anne Moran c/o Courthouse Castlebar, Second prize of £50 went to Anne Kilcoyne, Lower Quay Westport and Third prize of £25 went to David Heneghan of Louisburgh.


On the 5th of October, a new committee was elected, for the 83-84 Foróige year, their job was to continue the great work been done by the previous committee. Officers elected were; Chairperson, Irene Heneghan; Secretary, Noreen Maxwell; Treasurer, Tommy Monaghan; PRO, Brendan Kelly. In addition to this, vice Chair, Michelle Prengergast; Assistant Secretary, Robert Bennett.


Another first for Louisburgh Foróige in 83' was the formation of a new Junior Foróige club for the town. An election of officers to run this new club took place on the 7th of October, and officers elected were; Chairperson,Elaine McEvilly; Secretary, Conor Morahan; Treasurer, Eamon Broderick; PRO,Michael Burke.



The 21st of January saw a Louisburgh Foróige leader making it onto the small screen, David Heneghan, at the time was the acting vice chair and a Junior Louisburgh Foróige leader, was interview on RTE's "Anything Goes" following his achievement in winning "Young Citizen of the year award". On the show David spoke at length about the great work currently been done by Louisburgh Foróige and he outlined the many future plans for the club.


On the 10th of March Louisburgh Foróige's debating team were announced all Ireland Foróige debating champions.


For the third year in a row, Louisburgh Foróige took on the challenge of arranging the St. Patricks Day Parade. Entry fee this year is £5.


On the 23rd of March Louisburgh Foróige hosted a Senior Citizens party. This was enjoyed by everyone with the Seniors getting very much involved, so much so that by the end of the night there was confusion as to who was meant to be entertaining who.


The 7th of September seen the election of a new committee to run the 84/85 Louisburgh Foróige year. Officers elected were; Chairperson, Caroline Finlay; Secretary, Siobhan Harney; Treasurer, Kevin Kerr; PRO, David Morahan.


Between the 23rd & 25th of November Louisburgh Foróige hosted a 48 hour sponsored fast with all proceeds going to Concern. £700 was raised. A sizeable sum for 1984.


On the 16th of December Louisburgh Foróige hosted a Christmas party for everyone, in the Town Hall. Santa Clause made an appearance.



Once again, Louisburgh Foróige take charge of arrangements for the St. Patricks Day Parade. Entry fee this year is £5. Prizes on the day. Children fancy dress this year.


In December, the new committee was elected to run the 85/86 Louisburgh Foróige year. Officers elected were; Chairperson, Catherine McDonnell; Secretary, Fiona Chapel; Treasurer, Maureen O'Grady; PRO, Jackie Finley.



Members travel to Ballinfad Collage in October for the Foróige achievements day. Louisburgh Foróige members were presented with participation certificates from, Minister of State at the Department of labour and education, Enda Kenny


In November, the new committee was elected to run the 86/87 Louisburgh Foróige year. Officers elected were; Chairperson, Grainne Kilcoyne; Secretary, Jackie Finley; Treasurer, Marie McCormack; PRO, Sarah O'Malley.


December seen Louisburgh Foróige once again hosting a Christmas party for everyone, in the Town Hall. Santa Clause made an appearance.


On Christmas eve, Louisburgh Foróige went carol signing to raise money for St. Vincent de Paul.



Louisburgh Foróige arranged a quiz in early May. Killeen and Lacanvey youth club members were invited. A great night was enjoyed by all. Fr. Fallon was thanked for all his hard work on the night.


On the 16th of May, Louisburgh Foróige travelled to Ballintubber for the annual Foróige achievements day. Nomadic Structures were thanked for lending Louisburgh Foróige a stand to display there achievements on the day. Maria O'Malley was also thanked for providing transport to and from the event.



A ten week Karate course started, the last Friday in January in the Town Hall for Foróige members.


A club fundraising raffle is scheduled to take place on 26th of February. First prize of £150 was won by John Prendergast, Accony. Second prize of £100 went to B. Silver, Dublin. Third prize of £50 went to Joe McDonnell of Bridge Street Louisburgh. Seller prize of £30 was shared by Kevin Burns & Gainne Kilcoyne.



No records currently available. Can you help?




Can you help?


We would love to hear any info you have on Foróige over the years in Louisburgh. Please Contact Us with regard to anything you can add will be greatly received.